GoneCaving Goes Cycling

Blogging my progress towards an attempt at the Tour Divide


TD Days 4&5

A good start from Whitefish with a breakfast at Loula’s cafe then back on track. The morning started fine, and I stopped briefly at Columbia Falls for some re supplies. Then came the rain. I stopped briefly at a cafe near Echo Lake, but avoided the cafe with the same name as it looked busy and decided to push on to A Bar slightly off route in Ferndale. I made slow going of a meal of chicken tenders and fries. I’m making the rookie mistake of getting my fueling strategy wrong. The nuts and trail mix isn’t going down too well, and I found myself craving, but being without, real food. The distance between resupply points is feeling much longer than I’d expected. Possible also I’ve pushed too hard in the first few days and started to pay the penalty. While I’d hoped to get to Holland Lake, I ran out of steam at 9:30pm and ended camping with an ITT rider from Hachita. Deep in bear country!! 163km for the day.

After a very very cold night in which I survived the night without any bear encounters, I made a start at 6:30am, now deeply in calorie deficit. I knew it was going to be a short day to Ovando, but it still took me an age, with the body not responding at all. I struggled over the pass that day, with more wet snow, rain and a very cold descent. I couldn’t eat and really felt awful. I eventually made it to Ovando at close to 4:30pm, and tucked into two ice cream sandwiches (huckleberry flavour) and a cold coke. I’d planned to call it a day early, and took the advantage of the hospitality of a local church. Showered and clean I got a great meal at the local bar, Trixies. 118km for the day.

Day 5 was full of negative thoughts, so I’m going to need to pull back the mileage, or take a rest day (in Helena maybe?) if I’m going to keep going.



8 responses to “TD Days 4&5”

  1. Kevin Cunniffe Avatar
    Kevin Cunniffe

    Stay strong, take a day, or a half day if you need it but keep going if you can.

    Only a couple of days ago I read a blog post by a walker. She says trail mix and nuts is one of the most frequent things dumped by walkers on long distance trails. It sounds healthy but if you can’t eat it then not very useful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Making HUGE progress so far Duncan! You’re absolutely smashing it! Fio, Sean, Conor and I are all cheering from the Dublin office this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Turloch O'Siochain Avatar
    Turloch O’Siochain

    Hullo Duncan – an Irish chap in Japan following you (brill blog too!)- as you well know, days 3 – 5 are the toughest mentally (TCR vet here). You’re on track, keep it up!
    Turloch

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They certainly were given the weather this year! Had a much better day today!!

      Like

  4. Amazing progress so far! Sounds tough to get it right. First time in a church in a while, right? 😉 Glad you got there safe and hope the rest boosts both body & mind 💪🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Some man for one man Duncan. That sounds like a horrendous start to the ride. The weather reports looked awful, your perseverance is incredible. Take the chance to rest and recover if you need it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Going great! Hope you have a good feed and rest in Helena!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me

I am a caver, cyclist, electronic music nerd, home brewer. I’m also recently retired, and embarking on my next big adventure, an attempt to race the Tour Divide.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started